TOBACCO TO 21 ACT

The Tobacco to 21 Act would raise the minimum legal tobacco age of sale to 21. In order to enforce this requirement, the Secretary of Health and Human Services would have the authority to conduct undercover compliance checks, perform retailer inspections, initiate enforcement actions for noncompliance, and take other appropriate enforcement measures.

RAISING THE TOBACCO MINIMUM AGE TO 21 WILL SAVE LIVES

- 94% of adult smokers begin smoking before they turn 21.
 - Data suggest that adolescents may have an increased biological vulnerability to the effects of nicotine and nicotine addiction.²
- Raising the minimum legal age of sale of tobacco products nationwide would:
 - o Result in 223,000 fewer premature deaths, 45,000 fewer deaths from lung cancer, and 4.2 million fewer years of life lost for those born between 2000 and 2019;
 - Reduce tobacco initiation among youth; and
 - Lead to a 12 percent decrease in smoking prevalence.³

NEED FOR ACTION



Tobacco use costs the U.S. approximately \$175 billion in direct medical costs and \$156 billion in lost productivity every year.4



Tobacco use remains the leading cause of preventable death in the United States, responsible for more than 480,000 premature deaths each year.5



4.9 million middle and high school students were current users of some type of tobacco product in 2018, up from 3.6 million in 2017. This large increase is driven by a surge in electronic cigarette use.

Electronic cigarette use among youth has skyrocketed, growing an astounding 900 percent among high school students from 2011 to 2015. In response, the Surgeon General declared e-cigarette use among youth an "epidemic".

Nicotine & Tobacco Research: https://bit.ly/2VMOyK3

²National Institutes of Health: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3543069/
³Institute of Medicine: https://bit.ly/29rpH98

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://bit.ly/1hlyq1l Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://bit.ly/2ra3YIR ⁶Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://bit.ly/2Cje4in

National Institutes of Health: https://bit.ly/2Cji3vq

TWELVE STATES AND OVER 110 LOCALITIES IN AN ADDITIONAL **15 STATES**

Have raised the tobacco age of sale to 21



States

Arkansas, California, Delaware, Hawai'i, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Utah, Virginia, Washington

Over 110 Localities and D.C.

Alaska (1) Kansas (22) Arizona (2) Michigan (2) Colorado (5) Minnesota (31) Connecticut (8)

Florida (1)

Mississippi (1) Missouri (17)

New Hampshire (2) New York (25)

Ohio (22)

Rhode Island (2)

Texas (3)

Supporters

- Academic Pediatric Association
- American Academy of Pediatrics
- American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
- American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
- American College of Preventive Medicine
- American Heart Association
- American Lung Association
- American Pediatric Society
- American Public Health Association
- Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations
- Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP)
- Association of Medical School Pediatric Department Chairs
- Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health
- Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids
- Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America
- First Focus Campaign for Children
- National African-American Tobacco Prevention Network
- National Association of County and City Health Officials
- Pediatric Policy Council
- Society for Pediatric Research
- Trust for America's Health