Schatz Announces Nominees for U.S. Service Academies

Honolulu, HI
- Today, U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) announced this year’s nominees to attend one of our nation’s service academies.

“The men and women of the U.S. armed forces secure our daily liberties and make our country what it is,  said U.S. Senator Brian Schatz. “This year’s service academy nominees represent Hawai‘i’s best and brightest students.  These students have completed a highly competitive selection process and I extend my gratitude to this group of young patriots for their courage and willingness to commit to the rigorous training necessary to become a commissioned officer and serve our country.”

Applicants were selected based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the U.S. armed forces as well as their proven leadership skills through athletics and other organizations and an overall commitment to the military, the community and our country.

For more information on the application process, please visit

The following nominees were named for consideration into our nation’s service academies for the Class of 2018:

Sharee Acosta (Honolulu), Moanalua High School

Christian Agmata (Waipahu), Punahou School

Kalamaku Akiona (Kane‘ohe), Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Iain Armitage (Kula), Kamehameha Schools Maui

Eric Arzaga (Honolulu), W.R. Farrington High School

Courtney Ballard (Honolulu), Moanalua High School

Matthew Beattie-Callahan (Kailua), ‘Iolani School

Shiloh Begley (Kapa‘a), Kapa‘a High School

Hannah Boyce (Kane‘ohe), Punahou School

Shon Cagungun (Kailua), Kalaheo High School

Kevin Cho (Honolulu), Hawaii Baptist Academy

Nolan Chung (Honolulu), Punahou School

Michael Compton (Kailua), Le Jardin Academy

Michael Dearden (Honolulu), Punahou School

Trent Hori (Kahului), Maui High School

Seamus Hurley (Wahiawa), Saint Louis School

Sierra Jackson (Kailua), Kalaheo High School

Kristen Kadooka (Kailua), Kalaheo High School

Koa Knitter (Honolulu), Saint Louis School

Erin Lindsey (Kula), Kamehameha Schools Maui

Kamuela Makue (Kailua), Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Logan McFann (Honolulu), Mid-Pacific Institute

Malia Meditz (Ewa Beach), Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Maximo Mejia (Honolulu), Roosevelt High School

Austen Neumeier (Honolulu), Kalani High School

Joshua Oh (Honolulu), Henry J. Kaiser High School

Justin Park (Honolulu), ‘Iolani School

Jordan Paulo (Honolulu), Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Bradley Pierce (Kailua), Le Jardin Academy

Nikita Price (Honolulu), Moanalua High School

Scott Takahashi (Kea‘au), Waiakea High School

Lucas Tom (Ewa Beach), James Campbell High School

Kaila Wang (Honolulu), Home school

Chad Young (Honolulu), Punahou School

Logan Zeuner (Mililani), Mid-Pacific Institute