Senator Schatz Announces 16 Nominees For The U.S. Service Academies

HONOLULU- Senator Brian Schatz announced today the submission of the 2017 Service Academy nominees.

“Today, I am pleased to announce that 16 of our brightest students from throughout Hawai’i were nominated to attend one of our nation’s service academies,” said U.S. Senator Brian Schatz. “These men and women went through a rigorous selection process led by Senator Inouye and submitted by my office in order to serve and protect our nation.  I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation for their courage and willingness to serve our country. ”

Below are the nominations submitted by Senator Schatz:


Sydney Forsyth, Punahou School

Amy Kimura, Iolani School

Jez-Arvin Ramil, Maui High School

Zen Ikehara, Kamehameha Schools


Michael Clarion, Seabury Hall

Sijing Yang Qiu, Punahou School

William Bowers, Punahou School

Jennifer Jones, Island Pacific Academy


Jacob Lockwood, homeschooled

Jorjiane Guasch, Moanalua High School

Zen Ikehara, Kamehameha Schools

Eugene Sung, Punahou School

Noah Kwock, Punahou School

Eric Nagamine, Punahou School

Darlene Bugado, Vandenberg High School

Keanu George-Starrantino, Kamehameha Schools

Daniel Reynolds, Portsmouth High School

For more information on the application process for the U.S. Service Academies, please contact 202-224-3934.