Senator Schatz Announces Nominees for U.S. Service Academies

Honolulu, HI – U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) announced today the names of 38 students nominated to attend one of our nation’s service academies. The four service academies are: the United States Air Force Academy, the United States Military Academy, the United States Naval Academy and the United States Merchant Marine Academy.

“This year’s U.S. Service Academy nominees represent a new generation of future military leaders, all of whom completed a highly competitive and rigorous selection process,” said Senator Schatz. “I admire these students for their courage and commitment to serve based on the values that make this Nation great.”

Service Academy nominees were selected by a panel that included Allen Hoe, a decorated Vietnam War veteran and current Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army for East Hawai‘i. Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community and our country. Nominees will now be considered for appointment by the U.S. Service Academies.

The following students were nominated for consideration by the U.S. Service Academies:

Adam Amosa, Ewa Beach, James Campbell High School

Kristina Ancheta, Ewa Beach, James Campbell High School

Joshua Chae, Honolulu, Henry J. Kaiser High School

Michael Chasen, Kula, Seabury Hall

Ray Cochrane, Kapolei, Moanalua High School

Noah Crabbe, Honolulu, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Nathanael Endo, Waianae, Waianae High School

Austin Faulkner, Honolulu, Moanalua High School

Kai‘n? Gantz, Kapolei, Kapolei High School

Kate Greathouse, Honolulu, Moanalua High School

Nicole Grimm, Kailua, Kalaheo High School

Robert Heckman, Kailua, Punahou School

Calen Scot Holt, Kailua, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Isaac Hoyohoy, Ewa Beach, James Campbell High School

Alexander Kidani, Honolulu, Punahou School

David Kim, Honolulu, ‘Iolani School

Yu Jin Kim, Honolulu, Moanalua High School

David Kop, Honolulu, Punahou School

Gordon Kowalkowski, Kailua, Punahou School

Alexander Lee, Kailua, ‘Iolani School

Matthew Lee, Honolulu, Punahou School

Christine Lew, Ewa Beach, James Campbell High School

Lowen Joshua Lobaton, Honolulu, Kapolei High School

Russ Macadangdang, Kapolei, Kapolei High School

Matthew Mantanona, Ewa Beach, James Campbell High School

Diana Marquez, Aiea, Aiea High School

Kenji Mori, Honolulu, Punahou School

Iliana Nakamoto, Hilo, Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i

Sabrina Ray Olaes, Kapolei, Kapolei High School

Peter Orlich, Aiea, Le Jardin Academy

Angela Lois Ortiz, Honolulu, Kalani High School

Daniel Pagaduan, Honolulu, Radford High School

Mitchell Rumbaoa, Honolulu, Henry J. Kaiser High School

Lael Sommer, Kailua, Punahou School

Noah Toaso, Kailua, Kalaheo High School

Rene Valentine, Honolulu, Damien Memorial School

Benjamin Wuthrich, Kihei, H.P. Baldwin High School

Sarina Wyrick, Hilo, St. Joseph High School