Skip to content

Schatz Announces Nominees For U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) announced today the names of 33 students nominated to attend one of our nation’s service academies. The four service academies are: the United States Air Force Academy, the United States Military Academy, the United States Naval Academy, and the United States Merchant Marine Academy.

“The students who attend our country’s service academies represent the best the United States has to offer,” said Senator Schatz. “I look forward to seeing these young men and women grow into the next generation of military leaders.”

Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community, and our country. Nominees will now be considered for appointment by the U.S. Service Academies.

The following nominees were named for consideration into our nation’s service academies:

United States Air Force Academy

Teague Adams, Hilo, Kamehameha Schools-Hawai‘i

Shelby Boyd, Honolulu, Henry J. Kaiser High School

Charles Butz, Waialua, Radford High School

Cameron Coffelt, Kaneohe, Punahou School

Natalie Collat, Honolulu, Punahou School

Jenson Ryan Garcia, Waipahu, Punahou School

Landen Kukahiwa, Hilo, Kamehameha Schools-Hawai‘i

Conner MacPherson, Kaneohe, Homeschool

Luke Palalay, Kaneohe, Moanalua High School  

Brandon Pang, Kailua, Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama

United States Military Academy

Jamahl Adams, Lanai City, Lanai High School

Chad Domingo, Waipahu, Campbell High School

Elhadji Kone, Honolulu, Radford High School

Dillon Lundberg, Waianae, Punahou School

Conner MacPherson, Kaneohe, Homeschool

Quinn Maretzki, Honolulu, Punahou School

Andrew Raymond, Wahiawa, Culver Military Academy

Cloud Rodin, Hilo, Hilo High School

Kellen Rae Tanaka, Honolulu, Mid-Pacific Institute

Dynah Tuia’ana, Waianae, La Pietra School

United States Naval Academy

Keli Hanley, Hilo, Hilo High School

Michael Kalalau, Kahului, Kamehameha Schools-Maui/UH

Akalea Kapono, Kailua, USNA Prep/Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama

Ethan Landt, Waikoloa, Kanu ‘O Ka Aina NCPCS

Maxwell Lee, Honolulu, Punahou School

Scott Lyons, Mililani, Saint Louis School

Noah McCloud, Honolulu, Iolani School

Kai Preseault, Kula, Seabury Hall

Vincent Terrell, Honolulu, Punahou School

Kallen Wachi, Hanapepe, Waimea High School

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Keli Hanley, Hilo, Hilo High School

Aimi Imagawa, Kapolei, Island Paci?c Academy

Kallen Wachi, Hanapepe, Waimea High School

service academy noms 2019

Senator Schatz with 2019 Service Academy Nominees who received Offers of Appointment. These students are currently attending a military service academy.